Category: Leaders of Islands
Portia Simpson Miller, Prime Minister of Jamaica

Prime Minister of Jamaica

The head of state is Queen Elizabeth II. Portia Simpson Miller,  Prime Minister of Jamaica (since Jan 6, 2012) Portia Simpson Miller was born in Wood Hall, St. Catherine and attended the Marlie Hill Primary School , St. Martin’s High School and the Union Institute, Miami Florida where she read for a Bachelors Degree in Public...Read More »

Gordon Darcy Lilo, Prime Minister of the Solomon Islands

Prime Minister of the Solomon Islands

Gordon Darcy Lilo, Prime Minister of the Solomon Islands (since Nov 16, 2011) Constituency: Gizo/ Kolombangara, Western Province Contact Address: Ministry of Environment and Conservation P.O. Box G13 Honiara Solomon Islands. Phone: +677 28611/ 22453 Fax: +677 28735 Parliamentary Service Elected to the National Parliament of Solomon Islands for Gizo/ Kolombangara Constituency in 5 December 2001....Read More »

Peter O'Neill, Prime Minister of Papua New Guinea

Prime Minister of Papua New Guinea

Peter O’Neill, Prime Minister of Papua New Guinea Peter Charles Paire O’Neill, CMG (born February 13, 1964) is a Papua New Guinean politician and the Prime Minister of Papua New Guinea since 2011. Peter O’Neill was born in Laiagam, Pangia, Southern Highlands Province. O’Neill’s father, Brian O’Neill, was an Australian-born magistrate. His mother, Awambo Yari, a Papua...Read More »

Freundel Stuart, Prime Minister of Barbados

Prime Minister and Governor-General of Barbados

Freundel Stuart is the current and seventh Prime Minister of Barbados He succeeded David Thompson, who died on 23 October 2010 of pancreatic cancer. A member of the Democratic Labour Party, Freundel Stewart is a graduate of the University of the West Indies with degrees in Political Science and Law. He is a practicing...Read More »

Prime Minister of Curaçao

Bernard Whiteman, Prime Minister of Curaçao (sworn in on Sept 1, 2015) He was a Minister of Public Health, Environment and Nature since 31 December 2012 in the Asjes-Cabinet and the Hodge-Cabinet before taking the post, retaining the position after becoming prime minister.   Gerrit Schotte, Former Prime Minister of Curaçao Netherlands Antilles was dissolved on...Read More »

Sarah Wescot-Williams, Prime Minister of Sint Maarten (St. Martin)

Prime Minister of Sint Maarten

Sarah Wescot-Williams, Prime Minister of Sint Maarten (St. Martin) Netherlands Antilles was dissolved on 10 October 2010, resulting in two new constituent countries, Curaçao and Sint Maarten, with the other islands joining the Netherlands as special municipalities. Sarah Wescot-Williams is the leader of the Democratic Party of Sint Maarten and the first Prime Minister...Read More »

Governor-General & Prime Minister of Bahamas

Sir Arthur Foulkes, Governor-General of Bahamas (sworn in on April 14, 2010) Arthur Alexander Foulkes was born at Mathew Town, Inagua, 11 May 1928, son of the late Dr. William A. Foulkes and Mrs. Julie Foulkes nee Maisonneuve. He was educated at public schools in Mathew Town and in Nassau and first worked at...Read More »