President of Peru

Ollanta Humala, President of Peru (since Jul 28, 2011)

Ollanta Humala, President of Peru

Ollanta Humala, President of Peru

Ollanta Moisés Humala Tasso (born June 26, 1962) is a Peruvian politician and the President-elect of Peru. Humala, who previously served as an army officer, lost the presidential election in 2006 but won the 2011 presidential election in a run-off vote. He was elected as President of Peru in the second round, defeating Keiko Fujimori.

The son of Isaac Humala, a labour lawyer, Humala enlisted in the Peruvian Army in 1982. In the military he achieved the rank of Lieutenant Colonel; in 1992 he fought in the internal conflict against the Shining Path and three years later he participated in the Cenepa War against Ecuador. In October 2000, Humala led an unsuccessful military revolt by 39 soldiers in the southern city of Tacna against President Alberto Fujimori; he was pardoned by the Peruvian Congress after the downfall of the Fujimori regime.

In 2005 he founded the Peruvian Nationalist Party and registered to run in the 2006 presidential election. The nomination was made under the Union for Peru ticket as the Nationalist party did not achieve its electoral inscription on time. He passed the first round of the elections, held on April 9, 2006, with 30.62% of the valid votes. A runoff was held on June 4 between Humala and Alan García of the Peruvian Aprista Party. Humala lost this round with 47.47% of the valid votes versus 52.62% for García. After his defeat, Humala remained as an important figure within Peruvian politics.

In 2011, Humala campaigned as a center-left leader with the desire to help to create a more equitable framework for distributing the wealth from the country’s key natural resources, with the goal of maintaining foreign investment and economic growth in the country while working to improve the condition of an impoverished majority.



Alan Gabriel Ludwig Garcia Perez, Former President of Peru

Alan Gabriel Ludwig Garcia Perez, President of Peru

Alan Gabriel Ludwig Garcia Perez, Former President of Peru

Alan Gabriel Ludwig Garcia Perez was born on May 23, 1949 in the city of Lima. He went on to university studies at the Pontificia Universidad Católica and later earned his law degree at the National University of San Marcos in 1971. Afterwards, he moved to Europe, attending the Universidad Complutense in Madrid, where he studied and completed his thesis on constitutional law, earning him a doctorate in political science.In 1973, he went on to the Sorbonne University of Paris, where he obtained a degree in sociology.

Between 1977 and 1980 was elected Organization Secretary of the Peruvian Aprista party. In 1979 was elected as a member of the Constituency Assembly. Between 1980 and 1985 was National Deputy. Between the years 1982 and 1985 was General Secretary of the Aprista Party of Peru.

In 1985, at the age of thirty-five, was elected president of the Republic of Peru for the 1985 –1990 period, function that was democraticly excersised during his term.

On April 1992, due to the coup d’etat perpetrated by Mr. Alberto Fujimori, was granted political asylum in Colombia and France until January 2001, when he returned back to Peru.

President Garcia was candidate for the presidency of the Republic of Peru, representing the Peruvian Aprista Party, obtaining 47% of the votes on the presidential elections on June 2001.

In 2004 was elected president of the Peruvian Aprista Party.
He holds the honorary position of President of the Socialist International.
He also was Director of the Institute of Government of the University San Martin de Porres.
On the presidential elections taken place on June 2006, Mr. Garcia was elected President with the 52.6% of the votes.

President García is the author of several books, among them:

Sierra Exportadora (2005)
Para Comprender el Siglo XXI (2004)
Mi Gobierno hizo la Regionalización (1998)
La Falsa Modernidad (1997)

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons