President of Tanzania

Mar 19, 2021 | Tags: | Category: Africa Leaders, All, Female Leaders

Samia Suluhu Hassan, President of Tanzania (from Mar 19, 2021)

Samia Suluhu Hassan, President of TanzaniaSamia Suluhu Hassan (born 27 January 1960) is a Tanzanian politician who is serving as the sixth and current president of Tanzania. She is a member of the ruling social-democrat Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM) party. Suluhu is the third female head of government of an East African Community (EAC) country, after Sylvie Kinigi in Burundi and Agathe Uwilingiyimana in Rwanda, and is also the first female president of Tanzania. She took office on 19 March 2021 after the death of President John Magufuli on 17 March 2021.

A native of Zanzibar, Suluhu served as a minister in the semi-autonomous region during the administration of President Amani Karume. She served as the Member of Parliament for the Makunduchi constituency from 2010 to 2015 and was the Minister of State in the Vice-President’s Office for Union Affairs from 2010 to 2015. In 2014, she was elected as the vice-chairperson of the Constituent Assembly tasked with the drafting of the country’s new constitution.

Suluhu became Tanzania’s first female vice-president following the 2015 general election, after being elected on the CCM ticket with President Magufuli. Suluhu and Magufuli were re-elected to a second term in 2020. She briefly served as the second female interim Head of State in the EAC – 27 years after Sylvie Kinigi of Burundi, spanning a period around the end of the year 1993.

In 1978, Suluhu married Hafidh Ameirin, an agricultural officer who, by 2014, had retired. They have four children.[4] Her daughter Wanu Hafidh Ameir (born 1982), the couple’s second child, is a special seat member of the Zanzibar House of Representatives. On 28 July 2021, COVID-19 vaccination campaign started under her charge in Tanzania, with her receiving the first dose of the vaccine and urging all Tanzanians to get their jabs saying that the country “is not an island”.


John Magufuli, Former President of Tanzania (died on Mar 17, 2021)

John Magufuli, President of TanzaniaHe has served in the Cabinet of Tanzania as Minister of Works since 2010. Previously he was Deputy Minister of Works from 1995 to 2000, Minister of Works from 2000 to 2006, Minister of Lands and Human Settlement from 2006 to 2008, and Minister of Livestock and Fisheries from 2008 to 2010. He has served as a Member of Parliament since 1995.

He was CCM’s candidate for the 2015 presidential election and was declared the winner of the elections on 29 October 2015 by the National Electoral Commission. His running mate Samia Suluhu, was also declared Vice President elect.he won general election 2015.

Magufuli earned his bachelor of science degree in chemistry and mathematics from the University of Dar es Salaam in 1988. He also earned his master’s and doctorate degrees in chemistry from the University of Dar es Salaam, in 1994 and 2009, respectively.

After President Jakaya Kikwete took office, he moved Magufuli to the post of Minister of Lands and Human Settlement on 4 January 2006.

On 12 July 2015 Magufuli was nominated as CCM’s presidential candidate for the 2015 election, besting Justice Minister and former UN Deputy Secretary General Asha-Rose Migiro and African Union Ambassador to the United States Amina Salum Ali for the party’s nomination.


H.E Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, Former President of Tanzania

H.E Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, President of Tanzania

Born on 7th October 1950 at Msoga Bagamoyo District Pwani Region


1958-1961 – Msoga Primary School
1962-1965 – Lugoba Middle School
1966-1969 – Kibaha Secondary School
1970-1971 – Tanga Secondary School
1972-1975 – BA(Economics) University of Dar es Salaam
1976-1977 – Military Trainingi at Tanzania Military Academy at Monduli

1983-1984 – Military Leadership Training


1975-1977 – Deputy Regional Secretary of Tanganyika Afrcan National Union (TANU)
1977-1980 – Deputy Secretary of CCM, Zanzibar
1980-1981 – Administrative officer CCM Headquarters
1981-1983 – CCM Regional Secretary Tabora
1983-1986 – Political Tutor at the Tanzania Military Academy in Monduli
1986-1988 – Nachingwea and Masasi Districts CCM Secretary General
1988-1990 – Deputy Minister for the Ministry of Energy and Minerals
1990-1994 – Minister for Energy and Minerals and Water Developments
1994-1995 – Finance Minister
1995-2005 – Member of Parliament Chalinze Constituency
1995-2005 – Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation