Tag: President
George Weah, President of Liberia

President of Liberia

George Weah, President of Liberia (since Jan 22, 2018) George Tawlon Manneh Oppong Ousman Weah (born 1 October 1966) is a Liberian politician, who became the 25th President of Liberia in 2018, and a retired professional footballer who played as a striker. After beginning his career in his home country of Liberia, Weah spent...Read More »

Sooronbay Jeenbekov, President of Kyrgyzstan

President of Kyrgyzstan

Sooronbay Jeenbekov, President of Kyrgyzstan (takes office on Dec 1, 2017) Sooronbay Sharipovich Jeenbekov (born 16 November 1958) was the Prime Minister of Kyrgyzstan from April 2016 to August 2017. Jeenbekov was born in Biy-Myrza, Osh Region to a collective farm manager and a housewife. His brother, Asylbek Jeenbekov, is also a politician. Jeenbekov...Read More »

J.Y. Pillay, Acting President

President of Singapore

J.Y. Pillay, Acting President (since Sept 1, 2017) Joseph Yuvaraj Pillay, DUNU (First Class) (born 30 March 1934), also known as J. Y. Pillay, is the chairman of the Singapore Council of Presidential Advisers. He has been appointed acting President of Singapore following the end of President Tony Tan’s term on 31 August 2017....Read More »

Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta, President of Kenya

President of Kenya

Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta, President of Kenya (since Apr 9, 2013) Update Aug 8, 2017: In presidential elections, incumbent Uhuru Kenyatta wins 54.3% of the vote. Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta (born 26 October 1961) is the fourth and current President of Kenya, in office since 9 April 2013. He previously served in the Government of Kenya...Read More »

Paul Kagame, President of Rwanda

President of Rwanda

Paul Kagame, President of Rwanda UPDATE Aug 4, 2017 – In presidential elections, incumbent Paul Kagame wins 98.8% of the vote. Turnout is 98.2%. •  H.E. Paul Kagame was born in October 1957 in Gitarama Prefecture, Central Rwanda to Deogratius and Asteria Rutagambwa. •  He fled persecution and killing in Rwanda and became a refugee...Read More »

Moon Jae-in, President of South Korea

President of South Korea

Moon Jae-in, President of South Korea (since May 10, 2017) Moon Jae-in (born 24 January 1953) is the current President of South Korea. Moon was elected after the impeachment of his predecessor, Park Geun-hye in the 2017 South Korean presidential election. A former student activist, human rights lawyer, and chief presidential secretary to then-President...Read More »

János Áder, President of Hungary

President of Hungary

János Áder, President of Hungary (Re-elected on Mar 13, 2017) Áder grew up in the small town of Csorna in Győr-Moson-Sopron county. Beginning in 1978, he studied law for five years at the Faculty of Law and Political Sciences at Eötvös Loránd University in Budapest. From 1986 to 1990, he was a research fellow at...Read More »